Foster. Improve. Encourage. Advance


End Of The Year Message

Abstract Triangles Painting

President’s Message:

Dear ECSCA Members,

I hope that all is well with you and your family and that you continue to stay safe. In closing out the 2020-2021 school year, we convened our last meeting, at a moment of great trial and tribulation in our nation’s history. We convened amid the pandemic of Covid-19, voter suppression, police brutality, white supremacy, domestic terrorism, and systemic racism that has adversely impacted our nation, our students, and our families.  As Professional School Counselors, we abhor racial injustice and inequality. Together, in partnership with our students, families, and community, we will continue to support a culture that celebrates diversity and promotes an educational environment of respect and tolerance.

I do not think any of us could have imagined what the past year had in store for us; nor, will I attempt to anticipate, what the rest of 2021 is going to bring. What I can say is we have responded to these changes with poise and resourcefulness. It has been exciting to see the massive leap forward that the School Counseling Profession and role of school counselors has made in responding to the needs of our students and families.

As my tenure as President of the Essex County School Counselor Association comes to an end, I want to thank you for your unparalleled partnership and support during this challenging year. Despite the pandemic, we have managed to weather the storm. We exceeded our goals as highlighted in the following:

  • We established a website ( keep you informed of current events impacting our families and provided resources to address those concerns. 

  • We provided virtual general membership meetings and in lieu of our normal dinners, we provided refreshments delivered to your homes. 

  • We provided meaningful professional development presentations. 

  • We moved on an ambitious agenda to recruit and include members from each Essex County School District. 

  • We provided an electronic method to pay membership dues. 

  • We provided online registration for general membership meetings and online applications for the ECSCA “Linda Lee Memorial Scholarship”.

  • We also brought attention and awareness of the impact that School Counselors have in our schools and communities by securing proclamations from the Essex County Executive, Municipal Mayors, and School Superintendents, recognizing National School Counseling Week. 

Let us not forget, we initiated the “Counselors for the Community” charitable giving program where thanks to the generosity of our members we were able to make significant donations to Isiah House, Apostle House, and Divine Love Givers Inc. We can proudly say, that not only did we have our finger on the pulse of our students, but we also had our fingers on the pulse of our community.

In closing out this school year, I want to leave you with some thoughts as we move forward to build our association to be as stable and robust as possible. I ask that you consider this: People are inspired and drawn to you when they have a clear understanding of why you do what you do.  Your personal why is where you will find the greatness that is in you and there lies the essence of the Professional School Counselor:


  • “A Professional School Counselor is someone others can turn to for help and guidance, does not always have the answers, but can listen and help find the answers”.

  •  “Professional School Counselors support others by helping them grow and reach their true potential”

  • “Professional School Counselors help their colleagues and their organization to grow and succeed; they focus their efforts outwardly for the benefit of others” 

  •  “Professional School Counselors strive for lifelong learning and seek to better themselves and those around them.”


I look forward to my continued involvement with ECSCA as we continue to inform, empower, recognize, and celebrate our members and future school counselor leaders. I hope you and your families have a joyful, rejuvenating and safe summer. 

Promoting the leader in us all,

G. Jenkins


Greg Jenkins, President

Essex County School Counselor Association

The Executive Board 

Gregory Jenkins


East Orange School District

Christina Robinson

East Orange School District

Jose Mercado

Newark Public Schools

Marckens Pierre

Nicole Carrano

           Vice President

East Orange School District

Newark Public Schools

Isabelle Ramirez

Belleville Public Schools

Carol Covino

Berkeley College

Fathiyyah Salaam

East Orange School District

Vanessa Ming

East Orange School District