Resources 

Click on the Image Below for Resources 

BLMpic.jpg
Image by Martin Sanchez

Learn more about  NJSCA's offerings and resources. See link below

Remote Learning

  1. ASCA Planning for Virtual/Distance School Counseling During an Emergency Shutdown https://www.schoolcounselor.org/asca/media/asca/home/EmergencyShutdown.pdf

  2. ASCA School Counseling During COVID-19 Online Lessons and Resources https://www.schoolcounselor.org/school-counselors/professional-development/learn-more/coronavirus-resources

 

 

College/Career (High School)

  1. Cool Jobs for Kids https://www.worldsciencefestival.com/video/playlists/cool-jobs/

  2. Know Before You Go (narrated power point) https://www.schoolcounselor.org/asca/media/asca/Curriculum/Know-Before-You-Go.ppsx

  3. Resume & Interview Building https://www.schoolcounselor.org/asca/media/asca/Curriculum/Resume-Interview-Building-Workshop.ppsx

 

Social & Emotional Development (High School)

  1. Stress Management (narrated power point) https://www.schoolcounselor.org/asca/media/asca/home/ASCA-Stress-Management-ppsx.zip

  2. Remote Learning Resources to Give to Parents and Educators https://www.challengesuccess.org/resources/covid-19-resources-for-remote-learning/

  3. Ted Talk – The Power of Vulnerability https://www.ted.com/talks/brene_brown_the_power_of_vulnerability/transcript?language=en

  4. Ted Talk – What I Learned from 100 Days of Rejection https://www.ted.com/talks/jia_jiang_what_i_learned_from_100_days_of_rejection?language=en

  5. How to Gain Control of your Free Time https://www.ted.com/talks/laura_vanderkam_how_to_gain_control_of_your_free_time?language=en

  6. Articles & Discussion Questions: 

    1. Emotional Intelligence https://docs.google.com/document/d/1axI1JtNucTqym1huewvghXicC9-Vl2g8reOKPRafJBY/edit?usp=sharing

    2. The Discomfort You Are Feeling is Grief - https://hbr.org/2020/03/that-discomfort-youre-feeling-is-grief

 

Social & Emotional Development (Middle School)

  1. Coping Skills & Stress Management (narrated power point) https://www.schoolcounselor.org/asca/media/asca/Other%20Media/Coping-Skills_Stress-Mgmt_ASCA_19-20.ppsx

  2. Growth Mindset (narrated power point) https://www.schoolcounselor.org/asca/media/asca/Other%20Media/Growth-Mindset_K8_ASCA.ppsx

  3. Teaching Tolerance

    1. Nearpod lesson: My Multicultural Self https://nearpod.com/t/general/8th-grade/my-multicultural-self-L37168508?_branch_match_id=815722313398100831

    2. Nearpod lesson: The Civil Rights Movement – A Time to Speak 

  4. SEL Lessons

    1. Nearpod Maintaining Emotional Wellness https://nearpod.com/t/general/8th-grade/maintaining-emotional-wellness-L38644739?_branch_match_id=815722313398100831

    2. Nearpod Fitting In – How to Make Friends https://nearpod.com/t/general/8th-grade/how-to-make-friends-L38645096?_branch_match_id=815722313398100831

    3. Nearpod My Emotional Cup - https://nearpod.com/t/life-skills/8th-grade/sel-my-emotional-cup-L47737378?_branch_match_id=815722313398100831

 

*Nearpod.com has a lot of different lessons to choose from and signing up is FREE

 

Social & Emotional Development (Elementary School)

  1. “Captain Compassion” Bullying Prevention Video https://www.cfchildren.org/resources/bullying-prevention-information/

  2. Worry Warriors - https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCjr80SolNTdhIFEYauXcKqg/videos

  3. Mind Yeti Free Guided Mindfulness Sessions https://www.mindyeti.com/v2/s/pricing?utm_source=secondstep.org&utm_medium=link&utm_campaign=covid19support

  4. The Imagine Neighborhood: his new podcast for families is designed to help children and grown-ups practice their social/emotional skills. Each episode tells a story that’s amazing, fantastical and maybe a little bananas, while it tackles the big feelings that come with growing up. https://www.imagineneighborhood.org/

  5. Books About Kindness

    1. Kindness is Cooler, Mrs. Ruler https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UPO7P1gHAmo

    2. Have you Filled a Bucket Today? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3EuemNAo6XE